Navigating the New Norm of Remote Work

Harvard’s Remote Leadership Guide

Leadership, as always, demands a nuanced approach.

We aim to steer our teams toward shared goals with clarity and empathy, all while balancing the demands of our personal lives.

The challenges are real.

Now, if you're reading this, you're likely no stranger to the dance of mute buttons, virtual backgrounds, and perhaps the occasional pet cameo during video calls.

Remote work, while excellent in a multitude of ways, has amplified many of these common leadership challenges.

Yet, I believe, that by focusing on the fundamentals of communication we can cultivate a leadership style that's adaptive, inclusive, and grounded in trust.

This week, I’m drawing inspiration from the esteemed Harvard Division of Continuing Education (Harvard DCE).

Credit: Harvard DCE

Harvard DCE highlights the importance of doubling down on clear goals, effective meetings, and individual strengths.

Here’s how we can break it down, piece by piece, and make it actionable today…

Top Post of the Week

This week's focus on Ambiversion has sparked some fascinating discussions on LinkedIn.

Balancing the qualities of both introversion and extroversion can lead to more adaptive and responsive leadership. Reflect on your own leadership style:

How can embracing ambiversion enhance your approach?

I’d love for you to share your thoughts and continue the conversation. Tag me @rogermarkthompson!

Further Learning

To dive deeper into making remote work effective and fulfilling at both work and home, explore the following resources. I found them insightful and I think you will too!

Harvard DCE Resources

Access webinars and articles on leadership and remote team management for in-depth strategies and insights.

"The Remote Work Survival Guide" by Forbes

Offers practical advice for thriving in a remote work setting, covering everything from setting up your workspace to maintaining work-life balance.

My Experience

In March 2020, as the world grappled with the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, my temporary shift to remote work unexpectedly extended into a four-year journey.

Those initial months were a trial by fire, transforming me into the household's IT trouble-shooter amidst a bustling environment of four students and two professionals vying for bandwidth.

My mesh network was tested like never before.

This period highlighted the critical need for deep work and focus.

Procrastination was a luxury I couldn't afford, with each day bringing its own set of challenges, from managing large virtual meetings to answering the door for a snack-hungry six-year-old.

Despite the trials, this era taught me invaluable lessons about work and life balance.

Now, as I continue to embrace remote work in our post-pandemic "new normal," I've discovered my ambivert nature and the importance of solitary, focused work for productivity.

While I thrive on social interactions and building relationships, achieving my best work requires undivided attention.

Remote work has not just been a phase but a transformative journey, shaping how I balance professional achievements with personal satisfaction.

Concluding Notes

I’d love to hear how this work out for you. Reply to this email with your experience or send me a DM on LinkedIn @rogermarkthompson

Thanks for reading and until next week,

Roger

P.S.

If you find value in my content and believe in sharing knowledge for growth, I encourage you to spread the word. Recommend The UnThinkable Newsletter to your friends and colleagues who might also benefit from our insights. After all, the best discoveries are those we share with others.

P.P.S.

A huge welcome and thank you to all new subscribers this week! You’ve chosen to share your time and attention here with me, and it means the world.

How was today's newsletter?

If it wasn't a 10/10, let us know how we can do better!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.